Constant Emotion


SKU: 1997 Category:


“Kate MacLeod’s second album
shows her to be one of the leading lights of the contemporary folk scene, even
if most of that scene doesn’t realize it yet. MacLeod has a direct way with
a song, forgoing literary pretensions for clarity and simple truths. And while
her songs reveal an optimistic view of life, she’s quite capable of a heartbraking
ballad… Interesting instrumentation, such as tablas and bouzouki, add to the
attraction of this sparkling album, which is easily one of the top folk releases
of the year.”
– Associated Press

Constant Emotion is the second CD from Salt Lake City singer-songwriter Kate
MacLeod. Eleven original songs display the spare, often
chilling lyric style that earned MacLeod the “Utah Lyricist Of The Year” award
from the Private Eye Reader’s Poll. Kate also covers “Piney Wood Hills,” by
Buffy Sainte Marie.
Produced by Charles Sawtelle at Rancho Deville Studios in Boulder, CO, Constant
Emotion features MacLeod on guitar, fiddle, harmonica and vocals; Peter Rowan,
vocal harmonies; Matt Flinner on tenor guitar, banjo, mandolin, and bouzouki;
Barry Carter, acoustic bass; Mark Diamond, acoustic bass; Charles Sawtelle,
guitar; Sally Van Meter, dobro; Kelly Wallis, drums; and Ty Burhoe, tabla.
Included are “Long Ride Home,” concerning
a long train ride that translates an elusive inner journey as well (Peter Rowan
adds a fine harmony); “Adam,” tale of a dangerous religious fanatic that harks
back in feeling to Dylan’s “Ballad of Hollis Brown”; “A Long Time Ago,” connecting
personal childhood orientations with the state of the world; and “Second Chance
At Romance,” in which
a recovering alcoholic finds new possibilities. “

1. Constant Emotion
2. Talkin’ About Good News
3. Long Ride Home Listen
4. My Forsaken Love Listen
5. Adam
6. New Song

7. A Long Time Ago
8. Second Chance At Romance
9. The Pineywood Hills
10. The Red And Green House
11. The Child
12. Green


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Constant Emotion”