Heading Slowly Towards the Beginning


In stock


With shimmering production and orchestral arrangements of lush vocals and strings against a backdrop of guitar, piano, xylophone, banjo, bass and drums, the album showcases Bienemann’s continuing evolution as a singer, songwriter, arranger, and producer. Jenny’s songs are wholesome, quirky and wise; her lyrics here are detailed and spare, unfolding slowly and surely like flowers. The CD features contributions from many of Chicago’s finest musicians including John Abbey, Steve Dawson, Andon Davis, Sue Demel, Kevin O’Donnell, Deb Lader, Robin Bienemann, Alton Smith, and Quartet Parapluie.

Bienemann’s debut CD, LATE NIGHT ELABORATIONS, was released in 2004. Strong word-of-mouth and favorable press led to the album being recognized as one of 2004’s best by WXRT’s Richard Milne. Her next album, GIRL FRIDAY, was recorded solo, live at the Ogilvie Transportation Center in 2011. Garnering comparisons to Fiona Apple, Feist, and Suzanne Vega, it confirmed her status as audience-pleasing innovator.

HEADING SLOWLY TOWARDS THE BEGINNING was recorded in Chicago at Little School Street Studios by Bruce Roper (Sons of the Never Wrong), at Kernal Sound Emporium by Steve Dawson (Dolly Varden), and Joyride Studios by Blaise Barton. Bruce Roper built the guitars Bienemann played on the recording; Steve Dawson co-produced two songs, “The Beach” and “Asleep;” and Blaise Barton mixed and mastered the CD

1. Timber
2. Emails
3. Portrait
4. Impossible
5. Little Wooden Boats
6. After the Flood
7. What Would We Find
8. The Beach
9. Asleep
10. Heading Slowly Towards the Beginning


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Heading Slowly Towards the Beginning”