Promised Land – Gina Forsyth


In stock

SKU: 2012 Category:


People’s Choice Winner – folk category – Offbeat magazine, New Orleans

“…Forsyth is one of the brightest lights on the acoustic scene in New Orleans, thanks to her gifted wordplay and memorable voice….a wizard on the violin and the guitar.” –Gambit, New Orleans

Promised Land is an album no folk music lover should pass up. Well-written tunes, crisp production and instrumentation framing a message of reminiscences from a performer who does it as well as it can be done. In showing us where we’ve been, this CD tells us where we are in a way that is at once heartwarming and heartbreaking. Promised Land is a beautiful keeper, and I give it my highest recommendation.
John C. McClure, Victory Review June 2012

Promised Land reflects on American history and direction, blending compassion and irony with forthright lyrics and echoes from the gospel church. Includes traditional Cajun song “Belle” in 5/4 time. Born in Florida and raised in Alabama, Forsyth grew up on hymns, country songs, and old time fiddle tunes.
Promised Land is in roughly four chapters: America, Pre-Katrina, Post-Katrina, and Transformation. Most of these songs were written before the storm, although some, like “Sweet & Sunny South,” continue to rewrite themselves.

“Gina’s latest CD is a wonderful, smart, often funny, beautifully played and sung collection of songs.” -Neti Vaan

Jim Markway – upright bass
Chris Polachek – electric bass
Mike Barras – drum, percussion
Stephen Randall – percussion
Jonno Frishberg – accordion
Mike West – banjo

1. Promised Land
2. Lord Have Mercy
3. 4th of July
4. Christmas in China
5. Sweet and Sunny South
6. Belle
7. Sparrows
8. What I Did on Mardi Gras Day
9. Copper Rooster
10. Elegy
11. Just Like Eddie
12. 11 Days
13. Just For Tonight
14. We Will Be Reborn


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Promised Land – Gina Forsyth”