The Barn Birds


In stock

SKU: 2013 Category:


A collaboration between veteran North Carolina Americana songsmith/guitarist Jonathan Byrd and Northwest singer/fiddler/guitarist Chris Kokesh, known for her work with Misty River. Jonathan Byrd has toured extensively in Southeast, Texas, Midwest, and Canada.

“This rootsy North Carolinian may be the most buzzed-about new songwriter in folkdom. He displays John Prine’s gift for stark little songs that tell big, complex stories, Guy Clark’s lean melodicism, Lyle Lovett’s wry mischief, and Bill Morrissey’s knack for the revealing image.” – Scott Alarik, Boston Globe

Kokesh “sounds a little like Tracy Grammer and a lot like success on the American circuit.” – Eugene Weekly

The Barn Birds is an album about romantic love expressed with sophisticated musicality, smart songs and great sound. Byrd and Kokesh include songs written with and by Amy Speace, Anthony da Costa, Carey West, Corin Raymond, Anais Mitchell, Rob Vaarmeyer, Luke Dick, and the late Jack Hardy. The Barn Birds was recorded live-off-the-floor at Wimberley Texas’ Temple of Sound, Blue Rock Studio and Artist Ranch. Mixed by John Keane (REM, Indigo Girls, Drive By Truckers) and mastered by Brent Lambert at Kitchen Mastering (Megafaun, Avett Brothers, Ani Difranco). A gorgeous, grainless, hauntingly natural disc for audiophiles and lovers.

1. We Used to be Birds
2. Hazel Eyes
3. One Night at a Time
4. In the Light of Day
5. Paint the Town Blue
6. Maureen
7. Close Enough to Touch
8. Desert Rose
9. It’s Too Late to Call it a Night
10. Sundays Loving You
11. Lay Your Hands on the Highway

Bonus Tracks (PLEASE NOTE: You must put disc in your computer to access these):
Do You Smell Something Burning?


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Barn Birds”