Walking into White


In stock

SKU: 2015 Category:


A world class talent…burns with a brilliant allure. —Living Tradition

…a maelstrom of intensity…a totally enthralling
listen. —Irish Music Magazine

“McQuaid’s voice has an unforced richness which is the perfect foil for the echoing, spacious arrangements of her songs – and for her guitar, which here assumes a dazzling array of guises; one minute it’s as plangent as a piano, the next, it’s buzzing on a rock-and-roll riff. A unique, multi-textured sound emerges as each song pours out a new narrative.” — Piers Ford, Cry Me A Torch Song, UK

In its depth and texture of soundscape, Walking into White represents Sarah McQuaid’s most adventurous work to date. Co-producers Jeremy Backofen and Adam Pierce evoke the raw intensity of her live shows. Three songs take their inspiration from Arthur Ransome’s classic Swallows and Amazons series of children’s books. The title track uses the arresting image of two children lost in a moorland fog; in “The Tide,” as mud-bound sailboat becomes a portrait of a marriage. Guest musicians include Gareth Flowers, trumpet, cellist Kivie Cahn-Lipman, singer Adele Schultz and pianist Rob King. Sarah sets the early 20th century hymn “Canticle of the Sun” and covers Ewan MacColl’s “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face.”

Born in Spain, raised in Chicago and now living in rural England, Sarah is an acclaimed DADGAD guitarist who refuses to be pigeonholed, continuing to develop an original fusion of folk and jazz. Like its predecessors, her fourth solo CD has drawn international critical acclaim: The Musician (UK) called it “A work that grows with each listen,” Sending out a trembling resonance, this is a collection of songs that feel their way into your being,” wrote FolkWords (UK), where it prevailed over stiff competition to be selected as Album of the Month.

1. Low Winter Sun
2. Where the Wind Decides to Blow
3. The Tide
4. I Am Grateful For What I Have
5. Sweetness and Pain
6. Walking INto White
7. Jackdaws Rising
8. Yellowstone
9. The Silver Lining
10. Sweetness and Pain II
11. Leave it for Another Day
12. Sweetness and Pain III
13. Canticle of the Sun
14. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

1 review for Walking into White

  1. […] McQuaid’s Walking Into White is in stores now. Our review from August is […]

Add a review